RUNNING INJURIES: THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE UGLY

I’ve been having issues with a calf injury off-and-on since the end of January. I’m really stubborn about getting to the doc to get things checked out, but after hearing of the free injury screenings offered at my local running store, I decided it was about time.

The Good…

No torn or ruptured tendons. Whew.

The Bad…

Medial shin splints, which are very commonly found in those who overpronate (that would be me).

The Ugly… 

A large mass of scar tissue from a nasty tear in my calf muscle. Well, that explains a lot. Also, my biggest issue with my overpronation has little to do with my foot structure, but rather, my hips are to blame. Apparently I have fairly significant instability and poor alignment in my left hip, which I already knew. I just didn’t realize it could cause so many issues with legs and feet. The chiropractor strongly suggested no more running until my injury healed (cross-training only) and also suggested that I pass on my upcoming half marathon. Cue the heartbreak.

Back to Good…

Okay, so luckily it wasn’t all heartbreak. There was an “unless” in there: if I agreed to come to his clinic 2-3 times per week and limited my training, he agreed he could safely get my back in proper condition to run my half marathon in 5 weeks. He also gave me some wonderful suggestions of stretches and tools I can use at home in addition to my PT/chiropractic therapy sessions–I desperately want a foam roller. He even showed me how to use KT Tape to help the injured area (it really works!).

In other good news, I got properly fitted for new shoes that will help correct my overpronation issue: Nike Lunarglides. I’ve learned my lesson with running in poor footwear… NEVER AGAIN.

Screen Shot 2015-03-28 at 11.31.35 PM

I’m actually looking forward to my appointments, since it means that it’ll allow me to keep training safely. It has been frustrating alternating running and resting time to accommodate my injury. Let’s hope that I’m in tip-top shape come May 2nd!

Share Your Thoughts: